MDes : What to research? / Reflecting on previous ideas

Last year majority of my work was based on ‘Light and Space’ art/design. Maybe I should continue those ideas as they were very interesting and I know a bit about the subject… or should I decide to research something brand new? 

  1. Daniel Rybbaken ‘Daylight Entrance’ 2008 – 2010

‘This project is a continuations of the thoughts and ideas behind Subconscious Effect of Daylight and Daylight Comes Sideways..’ http://www.danielrybakken.com/surface_daylight.html

A piece where the artist has placed a LED panel of light behind a canvas to create an uncanny replica of a daylight. Personally I really love this piece. The light really does look natural as if it was really coming from a window, the idea of re creating something so natural into an artificial object is purely amazing. I think it visually looks beautiful.

There is something interesting about daylight and especially trying to replicate it – WHY

I really want to try and play with daylight, how it affects us our feelings and how flexible is it to work with? What could I possible accomplish from it?

2. My trip to Ghent Museum when the ‘Lightopia’ show was on back in 2015 -sparked a passion for this kind of design. Since then I have researched the show’s book collection and have intensively gathered some new ideas and understanding for light design. But not only that, I have to really think about my goals and what I want to achieve from my work – what kind of work do I want to produce?

3. Looking back at my undergraduate work and what ideas have driven me.

‘I decided to video this experiment and to my surprise the videos depicted something that cannot be particularly seen with naked eye. I could the light travelling from A to B which exists but cannot be seen unless you alter the space.

The projector’s light is far too intense for a naked eye to be viewed, therefore the experience wouldn’t be the same if I created an installation purely concentrating on watching the light travelling through fog from the bulb. I could feel uncomfortable after a while of watching it myself.

Not only did I catch the visible light I also caught particles of tiny dust that are illuminated by the light creating a beautiful yet uncertain image.’  

I think the ideas are still very interesting – the idea of not seeing what is happening in space unless you alter the space – but it does need more clarity and further development in order to be a valid project.

seven 7

To see the documentation video click here 

4. Last years’ project about illusion is still something of an interest to me. Artificial light has many properties of being altered and created when you need it. By using video softwares and editing the moving image you can achieve illusions that have impact on how we perceive the space. How come this happens and has such a big impact on our perception. Maybe this experiment can be used in a way that is more adjustable to certain needs eg. maybe creating cones of light that help productivity? Maybe some intensities of light could make someone feel like there is nobody around them and help them concentrate – could be used for people with anxieties and ADHD’s..

‘The aim of these simple installations was to find out how simply you can change the perception of a room through the projected light which was moving.

By staring into a blank space with lines going vertically towards the middle point of vision made the room appear curved and much smaller than what it was originally. They felt lifted up and above their own reality into another dimension. This proved that light is such a powerful way of manipulating a given space.

In Turrell’s works two-dimensional light plays the lead role in a space thus changing it into a three-dimension field of immersive vision. What I have been trying to achieve was a manipulation of space and light in a way that it is kinetic and that movement changes the way you perceive the space and at times makes it virtual and three- dimensional.

Although this was only an experiment of how our visual field of view when altered changes how we perceive things, I found a lot about the mind and body and how they are affect by change of visual senses and I do hope to experiment with these ideas furthermore.’

You can view the video here 

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 00.39.44

Leave a Reply

