A trip to Belgium..

I may have or I may have not joined the Product Design trip to Belgium for 3 days..oops I couldn’t resist. But aside from all the Belgian beer and fun, I did visit a Design Museum in Gent. I didn’t realise how relating this museum is going to be to my dissertation proposal and definitely motivated me to do research about what I’ve seen.

As I am interested in looking at artists such as James Turrell and Robert Irwin who work with light and space I came across the work of:

1. Carlos Cruz Diez ‘Chromosaturation’ 1965 – 2014

A chamber that aims to alter the perception of the audience walking through it. The intensity of the colours (blue, green and red) enter your eyes and merges the perception of space time and colour into one. Walking through the chamber myself made me very focused on colours and space around me. The change of colour in different places makes you really FEEL them and their contrasts.

IMG_6531

2. Daniel Rybakken ‘Surface Daylight’ Prototype 2010

‘This project is a continuations of the thoughts and ideas behind Subconscious Effect of Daylight and Daylight Comes Sideways..’ http://www.danielrybakken.com/surface_daylight.html

A piece where the artist has placed a LED panel of light behind a canvas to create an uncanny replica of a daylight. Personally I really love this piece. The light really does look natural as if it was really coming from a window, the idea of re creating something so natural into an artificial object is purely amazing. I think it visually looks beautiful.

IMG_6487 rybakken3. Chris Fraser ‘Slant’ 2013

Fraser who creates a chamber again with slits in the walls and light coming through in lines. Fraser is interested in camera obscuras which definitely had influence on this piece. He said that he is interested in ‘space becomes a “non-space” or a transitory space. I want to articulate that these “between” spaces are spaces in and of themselves. These partitions are often made of drywall, lumber or glass. But they can be made of anything, really. These secondary materials are meant to disappear, allowing the audience to linger on light, sound and motion.’ http://blog.asianart.org/blog/index.php/2014/04/17/renewalsreturns-new-life-of-an-old-building-part-1/

I personally find it amazing how simple materials and light can create such ‘installations’ and thus change our perceptions.

IMG_6499

Leave a Reply

