Reflection on Language Environment

I was really excited to start this module at the start of the term. I was looking forward to working outside my discipline area and working with other people. I have never done any installation work nor any performance writing. I found the workshops very broad and each week we were introduced to different ideas and ways of working which have broaden the ways in which we could base our final piece on. I have enjoyed all of the sessions/workshops and Camilla Nelson was definitely very helpful and informative in order to help us be creative and think deeper into what is language environment and how we could create our own.

After finding out what I would want to base my final piece on it became rather easier than harder. I was very excited to start book art and think about what I want to convey and where I want to install my piece. I have never worked with book art and that was definitely outside of my comfort zone but having helpful tutorials and people around the school who know how to do book binding was extremely useful for me. I really enjoyed spending my time in Typography room letter pressing my books, doing interesting research, book binding and planning where to install my book.

I feel that Language Environment was a great module with a lot of possibilities. A the end of week 2 and our workshop sessions I had a lot of to choose from which is very important foe us students as we don’t want to be stuck doing something we don’t enjoy or we don’t have a choice in choosing.

Overall the sessions were very well delivered and I feel I have really engaged in them all and importantly in a new field of study which was Book Art.

Leave a Reply

