Sculptures

I don’t know why but for some reason from the very start of this project I had an idea of a sculpture being my final piece. I have never done any sculptures before which really appealed to me right now. I came across a number of sculptures inspired by Cezanne or Impressionist paintings;

1. Anthony Caro – ‘Card Game’ 2013 – This is a sculpture piece made to be based on the famous Cezanne’s painting ‘Card Game’ (even both pieces have the same name). This sculpture really appeals to me me for purely the fact that it’s a modern sculpture based on an Impressionist painting. But I am not entirely sure if I can see the exact connection between the two pieces, except for the name..But now when I think about it more maybe creating something that looks nothing like the main piece of inspiration is quite interesting too.

2. J. Seward Johnson Jr – ‘Dejeuner Deja Vu’,1994, ‘Were you Invited?’,2001

Johnson has done a number of sculptures based on the exact replica of Impressionist paintings. I was very interested in them, to see how a painting can be converted into a 3D piece.

In New York there is a sculpture park called ‘Grounds of Sculpture’. This is the place where Johnson’s sculptures can be found. This sculpture is based on Renoir’s painting ‘The Luncheon of The Boating Party’. The replica of the painting is amazing. I want to create something for people to engage in and feel. Maybe not for people to walk through Cezanne’s landscapes but engaging in colours and shapes is something I am interested in portraying. Although these sculptures are nice I don’t think they really challenge the viewers.

Leave a Reply

