Response to Cezanne’s work

I have created little paintings based on Cezanne’s work to help me understand colour and shapes.

Then I have went onto looking at the outlines of the tree in Cezanne’s landscape and separating it from the painting.

After that I wanted to simplify the colours and shapes of the tree, creating almost a collage/cubist image.

I looked at the texture of the painting and the movement of the brushstrokes. I went onto doing an etching out of covering the page with wax candle and then covering it in black ink. After letting it dry I have make an etching image of the tree conveying the movement.

This was primarily a visual based research of the piece I chose.

Leave a Reply

